Author Topic: Complete Beginner to the Ocarina  (Read 8643 times)

Room312

• STL Ocarina Noob
  • Thanks Recieved: 1
Complete Beginner to the Ocarina
« on: May 27, 2011, 08:44:53 AM »
Hi, I'm Adriana. Just recently I discovered what an ocarina was. While at the ACen anime convention, I believe a vendor from STL Ocarina was there, from a far I heard the sound play and I was curious to what it was. My friend and I ventured and followed the song 9ironically it was Saria's Song). My friend loves playing Legend of Zelda games, but he never really went into what anything was. So when I heard "Ocarina of Time", I could tell you that I still had no clue to what an ocarina was.

but, when I heard it being played I wanted to learn to play too.

I just received my own ocarina yesterday. I decided to get a 12 hole plastic tenor ocarina because I'm a complete beginner but I also want to learn things that aren't too limited, so the 12 hole seemed like a good choice.

I'm currently going over the notations in the instruction booklet and I'm really confused because I'm new to playing music myself. I only really listen to music, so when I read the things listed on the page, I'm completely lost.

When it comes to actually trying to "practice" a note, I don't know whether I sound good enough or if I'm even doing it correctly...
I seriously don't know how to read any of it.

So, I'm lost and I'm not sure what to really do now. I've always been a visual learner and not one for reading how to do something, I've been so poor at it.

Mind helping me? I really want to learn how to play.

Phobos

• Ocarinist
  • Thanks Recieved: 17
Re: Complete Beginner to the Ocarina
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 09:22:27 AM »
Get a method book or some other means pf learning actual sheet music notation. The small booklet that is included with the ocarinas teach a numerical notation, IMHO, I find to be less accurate.

Room312

• STL Ocarina Noob
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 09:29:26 AM »